Skip to Main Content

Managing your Library Reserves

Reserves Materials

Below are materials that are part of the Library collection and/or put on reserve by library staff. In addition to these materials, faculty have the ability to link to non-library resources in their reading list.

  • Physical Reserves include:
    • Books from the Library collection
    • Faculty personal copies
    • Donated textbooks  
  • Electronic Reserves include:
    • Ebooks from the Library collection (for more information on ebooks, visit the Guide to Library Ebooks)
    • Journal articles from the Library collection
    • Uploaded PDFs of non-library material that fall under fair use (e.g. book chapters, articles, handouts, etc.)
  • Media Reserves include:
    • Streamed media content

Faculty Personal Copies

The University Library welcomes faculty contributions to Library Reserves, ensuring essential resources are accessible to students. Faculty involvement is key to providing equitable access to course materials.

Faculty can drop off textbooks for their courses at the 3rd floor Circulation Desk of The University Library during regular hours. These materials will be placed on Library Reserves, where the library will manage circulation. Faculty can select loan periods ranging from 2 hours, 3 hours, 1 day, 3 days, 1 week, or 3 weeks. Faculty may remove their personal copies at any time and also have the option to donate any copies to the library.

 

Please note that by submitting personal copies for Library Reserves, faculty acknowledge that they relinquish the right to have the materials replaced if they are lost or damaged.

Media Reserves

Materials that are part of the Library collection can be put on reserve by library staff. In addition to these materials, faculty have the ability to link to non-library resources in their reading list.

  • Media Reserves include:
    • Streamed media content from library collection
    • Streamed media content from library databases (Kanopy, Films on Demand, etc.)
    • Media content from external sites (youtube, news sites, etc.)

Video and Streaming Media

The Library provides access to thousands of films, including documentaries, feature films, and instructional videos. Don't see the video you need? Contact reserve@csusm.edu. For media streaming troubleshooting, visit the Media Streaming Troubleshooting guide for assistance.

Database Full-Text Coverage Scholarly

Films on Demand

Films on Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows a user to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Thousands of videos are available for in-class use and remote viewing from the library, in the dorm, or at home. Our high-quality streaming videos can be accessed by librarians, faculty, and students through online card catalogs, learning management systems, and distance learning courses. And special features built into the Films Demand platform allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, store quick links to favorite videos, and manage their entire collection through an administrative reporting system.

 Full-text current  Some

Kanopy Video Library

Kanopy Video Library provides streaming on-demand access to thousands of documentaries, feature and independent films, and training videos. Licensing partners include Criterion Collection, Universal Paramount, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, PBS, First Run Features, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Educational Resources, and others. Kanopy videos can be viewed on a range of devices and platforms including Apple, Android, and Windows. Titles are added by instructor request. Don't see the video you need? Contact reserve@csusm.edu.

 Full-text current  

Docuseek

Docuseek is a streaming video provider of documentaries and films. CSUSM doesn't have access to all Docuseek films, but you can view licensed content by selecting Browse and check the box for "Show only licensed films" in the right panel. CSUSM provides access to Docuseek titles by instructor request. Contact reserve@csusm.edu if you don't see the title you need.

 Full-text current  

Alexander Street Press

Alexander Street Press provides streaming access to documentaries and films. Titles are added by instructor request. Don't see the video you need? Contact reserve@csusm.edu.

 Full-text current